An Introduction/The Lost Connection

Greetings, readers! Welcome to what should be an entertaining and enlightening experience as I share my thoughts and polish them into powerful missives that can have a profound affect on those who read them.  This first post is something I wrote over a year ago, and should give an indication of what I plan to do with this blog.  Enjoy.

The Lost Connection

 
With all of the advancements in communication technology, the world seems to be just as connected as ever.  This has certainly made staying in touch with one another much simpler, especially for those who are separated from their loved ones for extended periods of time.  I’m sure there are many spouses of U.S. soldiers deployed overseas who sleep better at night not having to wait for letters or telegrams from them.  But despite our ability to talk to anyone, anytime, anywhere, as time goes on, we seem to be losing the connection with those that are around us every day.  Text messages flow throughout our lives as our primary source of communication, and it wouldn’t shock me if there were a few kids out there that don’t know their phones actually ring.  The ability to hold multiple conversations at once renders people to keep dialogue short and simple, with little feeling or thought put into their words.  To make matters worse, the element of trust has deteriorated rapidly.  I can tell you countless instances where envious or suspicious friends and family members bombard others with tab-keeping messages and phone calls.
“What are you doing?” “Who are you with?” “Why aren’t you home yet?” “ WHO THE FUCK IS SHE?!?!”
Now, I’m all for technology. I use it quite a bit in order to keep up with friends and family here in Tucson, in various parts of the country, and even Canada.  But I also grew up during a time where we didn’t have any of this, and I can still enjoy a wonderful conversation at the most basic level.  I thoroughly enjoy being able to connect with someone. Not ‘connect’ with someone in a spiritual or romantic way, but to be vulnerable to a friend, and to be able to share life experiences without trying to impress or influence them.  Sharing with the primary purpose of connecting with someone, and to have that gesture reciprocated.
The perfect example happened recently when I met a friend for tea.  We had not seen each other in a while, so we were both looking forward to catching up.  Plus, meeting someone over tea is probably the most cultured, adult thing I have ever done in my life, and I’m always looking for opportunities to expand my horizons.  The conversation lasted about 90 minutes, and it was possibly the most intriguing, profound, and fun time I have had in a long time.  It was a real throwback compared to most encounters with friends I have now. My friend and I shared stories of our past, our present, and plans for the future. There wasn’t a hint of ego in the room, no facades put up.  A connection was made, a connection that I feel is being lost in our society as a whole.  So much emphasis is put on avoiding pain that we are losing our ability to open up, to take risks, and most importantly, to BE HUMAN.
You don’t have to be the best of friends to connect with someone, nor do you have to be romantically involved to share with someone.  My biggest issue with the world today is no one trusts anyone anymore.  I have lost many friends, mostly female, all because they had significant others who saw me as a threat, and I’m certain there are many others who can relate.  My friend is an attractive, happily married woman around my age; it doesn’t mean I have a desire to be with her. I encourage all who read this who may struggle with letting your guard down to give it a shot, especially over tea.
Leave a Reply

